Review: Alice in the Country of Hearts – My Fanatic Rabbit Vol.1

Own the book: No
Source: Library
Format: Paperback
Price: N/A
Date Read: 12th June 2014

Alice in the Country of Hearts is a Japanese re-take of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland novel. It is a visual novel – a manga (from my understanding of the word) type book. It is made up much like a comic book with lots of illustrations and few words, although at 190 pages a few more than a normal comic. This was my first time reading a book of this sort and I really enjoyed it. I loved the pictures and found them extremely expressive. Being Japanese based, there were many expressions – such as twitch/piku, twinge/kyu and shock/gan – alongside the spoken text parts which took a while to get used to but which expressed movement and emotion far more than expected of a 2D page. I also found the way of reading the book to be confusing – it is based on the Japanese reading style, moving from right to left across the page rather than left to right. The book also started from the back, rather than the front!

When I started reading, I did feel that I started in the middle of the story, and having done my research it looks like this book is an offshoot of another series. It didn’t stop me from enjoying this story though. The main character ‘Alice Liddell’ is an Outsider, brought into a strange world by Peter White. She comes to live with the Hatter Mafia at Hatter Mansion with Blood DuPre, his 2nd in command Elliot Marsh and the guards Dum and Dee. Alice goes between many emotions and seems to be slightly clueless and unstable… but the book was interesting so I will certainly try another and see what happens next.

Rating: ♥♥♥

One thought on “Review: Alice in the Country of Hearts – My Fanatic Rabbit Vol.1

  1. Pingback: Review: Genkaku Picasso Vol. 1 by Usamaru Furuya | JennyBee's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

