Event Review: #SexMeUpReadathon & #Sunathon

Today (Sunday) sees the culmination of seven days of wonderful reading time. Firstly with #SexMeUpReadathon running Monday to Friday and (at the same time) #Sunathon running Monday to Sunday.

I have to say, apart from the craziness of having both running at the same time I’ve really enjoyed both of them. I haven’t read nearly as much as I have wanted – work, darn! – but I have loved sitting back in the evenings with a good book and the motivation to read instead of watching telly.

The two readathon’s were run by different groups/individuals and came across completely differently. Both were based on/in Twitter which made following and interaction easy and quick – at least until I managed to be a complete idiot and take Twitter off my phone; my usual method of following. After that it was back to the PC when I was able.

Although I had put together a list of TBR books at the beginning of the challenges, I didn’t end up following it. Instead I read (or began to read):

The Right Side of Mr Wrong by Jane Linfoot (#SexMeUpReadathon) – Reviewed 21st July 2014
The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House by Stephanie Lam (#Sunathon) – Reviewed 25th July 2014
The Story of O by Pauline Réage (#SexMeUpReadathon) – Still reading
Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett (#Sunathon) – Complete but not reviewed
The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (#SexMeUpReadathon) – Still reading
Dead Man’s Folly by Agatha Christie (#Sunathon) – Complete but not reviewed
A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (#Sunathon) – Still reading

 

#SexMeUpReadathon:

The #SexMeUpReadathon was a fantastic way to ‘big up’ erotic fiction and to really talk about it with other readers and the authors themselves – having an itinerary to follow also helped! I will admit that it did get a little confusing in the end with things like blog posts going on through different platforms (many of which didn’t seem to get a great deal of interaction unfortunately from those involved) and three different hash tags to follow. Two of the hash tags were in use generally on Twitter so following via those was near impossible. The two were: #StaySexy and #LetsGetItOn. I did enjoy the #SexMeUpReadathon takeover on the last day (Friday) by The Hot Bed; a group of 4 women with a love of erotic fiction who all work at the publishers Simon & Schuster. Unfortunately this partially involved using another platform; Tumblr – one I don’t tend to use at all.

I had been hoping to extend my #SexMeUpReadathon over the weekend but gave this idea up in favour of savouring my last two days of #Sunathon. I think the general consensus by those involved to extend their reading over the weekend rather confused matters so the end of the #SexMeUpReadathon was very up in the air. Despite the things mentioned however, I did love taking part and would do so again in a heartbeat. The TBR pile of erotic fiction I have waiting is still rather large and only getting larger thanks to freebies on Amazon!

 

#Sunathon:

#Sunathon was very different and fantastic in it’s simpleness – Tweeting about what you’re reading and posting the odd picture. Retweeting, favouriting and conversing! I loved that #Sunathon went over the weekend too – I don’t know a great number of people with the leisure time needed in the week to really get their teeth into a book. The only thing that would have been better would be the readathon starting the Friday evening beforehand to include 2 weekends! I look forward to the chat going on at 8pm tonight to see how that will work.

 

I loved that the two weren’t races to read. They were designed to encourage people to read and to share their love of the books they had encountered. Overall, the two very different readathons were a fantastic introduction for me as my joint first.

I greatly look forward to joining more in the future.

 

 

 

A final note: These are my honest opinions of events as I have experienced them. They are in no way meant to be attacking or condescending, merely my thoughts and memory for the future.

Leave a Reply

