Review: A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness

Own the book: NoA-Discovery-of-Witches-US
Source: Library
Format: Hardback
Publish date: 2011
Price: N/A
Date Read: 29th July 2014

 

Over the past few months I have had A Discovery of Witches out on loan from the library a number of times. Each time though, I found other things to read or do and for whatever reason never picked the book up.

I was a complete and utter idiot.

At 592 pages (the last 2 of the 594 are acknowledgements) the hardback version is a bit of a behemoth and certainly put a touch of fear in my heart. Overcoming this – even thanks to the third in the trilogy landing neatly on my doormat from the wonderful people at BookBridgr – was difficult, especially when I didn’t find my mind caught after the first few pages. I persevered however and soon found myself caught hook, line and sinker. I was addicted – in a good way.

The story centres around the main character; a witch called Diana Bishop. In a world filled with humans, witches, daemons and vampires, Diana is trying her hardest to keep away from a life of magic. Turning away from something you are though is impossible as Diana finds, with little bits of magic creeping out where she least expects. An alchemical history professor researching at Oxford, Diana comes into contact with many old and unusual texts; none more so than Ashmole 782. As shocked as Diana is when she realises there is a spell on the book, it is nothing to her feelings when she finds out that others are after this long-lost and very important text. However, Matthew (swoon) – a vampire and Diana’s love interest – is soon along to aid her. Travelling from the UK to France to America, Matthew and Diana are on the run from the witches and vampires who are after Diana. Meeting with allies old and new, Matthew and Diana soon have a plan; Diana must learn how to control her magic.

Although I was very late to the party for this book, I am so glad I read it. It was an absolute joy. I was transported away into another world – one I didn’t want to leave. The story of Matthew and Diana is a fantastic one and I can’t wait to read part 2; Shadow of Night and part 3; The Book of Life. With loveable and dislikeable characters galore, lines that have you in stitches and situations that have you reaching for the tissues, A Discovery of Witches is a delight and a wonder.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥ – I loved it.

One thought on “Review: A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1) by Deborah Harkness

  1. Pingback: Octobathon Reading List | JennyBee's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

