Review: Do or Die (Reluctant Heroes #1) by Suzanne Brockmann

Own the book: YesDo or Die Cover
Source: NetGalley
Format: E-book – read on Kindle
Publish date: 4th February 2014 by Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Books
Price: N/A
Date Read: 2nd August 2014

 

Note: I received this copy of Do or Die (Reluctant Heroes #1) by Suzanne Brockmann for free through Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Books on NetGalley. The opinions and thoughts I share in this review are my own.

 

When I was a teenager I got rather addicted to Mills & Boon books – I loved the easy read, the heart breaking near-end and the guaranteed happy ending. Unfortunately I read so many of them I ended up mixing them up in my head. One that really stayed with me though was – I discovered after much searching years later – ‘Prince Joe’ by the author Suzanne Brockmann. Re-discovering this amazing author years later has been an absolute pleasure.

Ian Dunn is an ex Navy SEAL and now apparent jewel thief and conman who is currently serving time in jail. Phoebe Kruger, a lawyer only days into her new job, takes on the case of Ian Dunn from her absent boss; Dunn’s usual point of contact. Whatever Ian Dunn is really doing by being in jail, the FBI are springing him out to rescue two children trapped in a foreign embassy in Miami by their father. Ian Dunn has his secrets though and passes on the mission and the promised freedoms. Saying no though is not an option, and Ian Dunn is freed – taking his feisty new lawyer along for the ride. Well, at least to begin with. Phoebe soon persuades Ian to rescue the children and let her help in the mission. With the addition of Ian’s old team; his brother Aaron, Aaron’s partner Shelly and their baby Rory along with Francine and a whole host of other characters, a plan is soon formed and it’s time to put things in motion.

This story comes in under the Romantic Suspense genre umbrella and it’s exactly what I love to read. And to be honest, I adored this story. I loved the characters of Ian and Phoebe. Ian the strong-willed alpha, ready to lead and so protective of his family. Phoebe, at first out of her depth in such a strange and unknown situation who takes back control and finds strength and courage. And the romance between the two… phew!

At 577 pages (according to Amazon.co.uk) it was a long read but it went so quickly – I don’t think I put it down except to sleep for the night and that was only when I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. After a Mills & Boon length story I felt spoilt! Although the story was a long one, I didn’t feel like there were any parts I could have skipped without missing out on big parts of the current or back-story the characters had. Each character had secrets and a history which made a lot of the things going on make sense; their reactions to a situation or a specific person. It was this intertwining of stories which made me love this book all the more. Oh, and the action. Can’t have a romantic suspense book without action – especially when your male lead is a massive, highly-muscled ex Navy SEAL. Pulse. Racing. For more reasons than one.

Overall this was a fantastic re-introduction to a wonderful author and I’m so excited that this is the first in a new series. I can’t wait to read more – I even have an old copy of ‘Prince Joe’ waiting for a re-read!

If you like your stories with a mix of romance, action and feisty characters this is definitely the story for you.

 

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ – Bl**dy brilliant

Leave a Reply

