Event Write Up: Octobathon – 17th-19th October 2014

Well it’s been a fantastic weekend but #Octobathon is, for me, complete. At the time of writing it’s only 11pm here in the UK but I must be up far too early in the morning for work to stay up until the bitter end. That I will happily leave to others taking part.

Overall it was a relatively quiet weekend but I was extremely pleased not to be alone. Thank you to everyone who took part – you were utterly fabulous!

Over the weekend I joined some of you in the wonderful Reading Sprints, with others chatting about books (heaven!) and congratulating so many who completed books – more than one for some.

So, to tally up my reading:

UK_Monogram_Murders_jacket

Book 1: The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah.
This is a new Hercule Poirot mystery, a continuation of the character and books by the wonderful Agatha Christie. I found the book to be one continuous puzzle with twists and turns galore. I enjoyed the characters and loved the complete mystery of it all. Hard as I tried though, I didn’t quite manage to work the whole thing out before the end!
Complete review to be added later.
Number of pages: 400

the-christmas-bake-off

Book 2: The Christmas Bake Off by Abby Clements.
As a massive fan of the UK’s Great British Bake Off I was immediately hooked on this book. It was an extremely short story but so sweet and with such lovely characters I wished the story was so much longer. It took only 10 minutes to read but a great introduction to the author and a break from the miserably wet world outside. Fortunately there weren’t too many characters to keep track of but those that there were, were well rounded and likeable. I wish the book were longer.
Number of pages: 25

AnnaFrenchKissSmall

Book 3: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins
I wasn’t sure at all what to expect from this book but I was extremely pleasantly surprised and soon well and truly hooked. It was definitely a Young Adult story and one I (a little past my teen years) could get my teeth well and truly into with alarming alacrity. The story was extremely well written and I was so sad to say goodbye to Etienne and Anna at the end.
Complete review to be added later.
Number of pages: 396

Total number of books read: 3
Total number of pages read: 821

But what now? Well, I’m planning on holding another Readathon Event! This will be around the end of November / beginning of December. I will certainly be planning it a little earlier than this one – there was an entire 3 days notice! – so watch out for an introductory blog post.

If you have any ideas for the readathon, any dates I should miss during that period (and a reason for doing so please) or want to help promote or plan it then please give me a bell at: jenny bees book blog at gmail dot com (simply change to the usual email format) with the title ‘Readathon 2014’.

My thanks and love to all who made #Octobathon so fantastic,

JennyBee x

3 thoughts on “Event Write Up: Octobathon – 17th-19th October 2014

  1. I loved #octobathon, I read – not as much as I would have liked but I did read. It was great to have book conversations with you too. I’ll be watching for the post for the next one. I hope to read more in the next one. (Especially as there will be more notice 😉 ).
    Thanks for hosting #octobathon, it was fun.
    Amanda.

  2. Pingback: Review: The Monogram Murders (The New Hercule Poirot Mystery #1) by Sophie Hannah | JennyBee's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round-Up – 26.10.14 | JennyBee's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

